Thursday, June 28, 2012

Some Literary Events / June 28 - 30

All events free unless otherwise noted. Programs are subject to last-minute cancellation; we urge the reader to check the venue's website or to call for reconfirmation.

June 28 (6 pm) Conversation with Daisy Martinez. Meet the author of Daisy Morning, Noon and Night, Food Network's Viva Daisy! star, who will share the inspirations behind the recipes from her collection. The author draws from her own Puerto Rican traditions as well as her annual family journeys to Spanish-speaking countries. At La Casa Azul Bookstore, 143 East 103rd Street. For more information, click here.


June 28 (7.30 pm) Tertulia en Queens. Organized by the Hispano/Latino Cultural Center. Open mic, Juan Gómez Quiroz short video screening, Liza Rosas Bustos photography book exhibition, music, and the presentation of literary magazines Hybrido wand Trazos with readings by Jesús Bottaro, José Osorio, Omelino Bermúdez, Alex Lima, Fredy Gómez Cajape, Osiris Mosquea, Félix García and Juan Carlos Recinos. Free and open to the community. At Restaurante Gran Rancho Jubilee, 23-04 94th. St., Elmhurst. For more information, call 718.335.1700 or send email to info@hlccny.org.


June 29 (6 pm) Reading with Bonafide Rojas, author of When the City Sleeps. Rojas's New York and the city’s popularized identity are distinct. The author’s love and laments are steeped in stark realism, the loneliness of being, and an observation of the dismantled facade of the city. In the tradition of Whitman, Crane, Lorca, and Pietri, Rojas documents the city's wonders, brilliance, and shocking tales. At La Casa Azul Bookstore, 143 East 103rd Street. For more information, click here.

June 29 (6 pm-8 pm) Open Mic. An evening of shared poetic sounds: hip hop, rock, pop, poetry, prose, instrumentals. Show off your talents and meet fellow Northern Manhattan authors and artists. At Word Up Community Bookshop, 4157 Broadway (at 176th Street). For more information, click here.

June 29 (7 pm) Spanish Bookclub: Los ejércitos, by Evelio Rosero (Colombia). With invited writer Francisco Díaz Klaassen (Chile); moderated by Mariano Louge. At McNally Jackson, 52 Prince Street. For more information, click here.

June 29 (10 pm) Friday Night Slam! Hosted by Mahogany Browne. $10 at the door. At Nuyorican Poets Cafe, 236 East 3rd Street. For more information, click here.

June 30 (1 pm) 2012 Poets House Showcase Opening Reading. Readings by Thom Donovan, Aracelis Girmay, Scott Hightower, Eileen Myles, Murat Nemet-Nejat, Martha Rhodes, Frances Richard, Patricia Smith, Mónica de la Torre, John Yau, and others. At Poets House (Kray Hall), 10 River Terrace. For more information, click here.

June 30 (3 pm) Urban Word Northeast Regional Teen Poetry Slam. $7 in advance. At Nuyorican Poets Cafe, 236 East 3rd Street. For more information, click here.


June 30 (7 pm) Capicu People Open Mic and Boricua Goddess' 40th Birthday. Featuring poet Mariposa and artist Nelson Host Santiago. At LP & Harmony, 683 Grand St., Brooklyn. For more information, click here.


To report errors or to have your event included in these listings, please send an email out to hnypeditor@gmail.com. For events, please indicate date, venue or contact information.


ShareThis

Blog Archive